CoinPeople.com

Foreign bank note knowledge

Tristan

Hi guys,

I am new to collecting banknotes & am going through a few my grandad gave me, can anyone help on these ones that I'm interested by?

The 2 Nederland notes have consecutive serial numbers & the 2 older ones are from Qatar & Dubai currency board, am unsure how to identify/date these.

Many thanks

Tristan.

image.jpg

Welcome to Coinpeople, Tristan! I love collecting banknotes, too.

I don't think the consecutive serial numbers have any added value over the value of the notes.

As for the Qatar and Dubai notes, the red notes is 5 and the green is 1. Beyond that, I can't tell what they say due to the image and due to the fact that my Arabic is very rusty. They can't be more than 10 years old I bet.

Nice, the Qatar & Dubai have some value. This site will help you with identification. http://www.banknote.ws/

QATAR & DUBAI http://www.banknote.ws/COLLECTION/countries/ASI/QDU/QDU.htm

Netherlands http://www.banknote.ws/COLLECTION/countries/EUR/NDL/NDL.htm

• 3 weeks later...

The Dutch notes are nice notes, but fairly common. The consecutives are maybe a small premium, but not much because the condition is not very good. They are from the Netherlands and are dated 1953. You can find that just below "De Nederlandsche Bank" beginning with "Amsterdam..." This note was issued from 1953 until about 1968.

Now, on the other hand, the Qatar and Dubai notes have some serious value to them. These notes were issued PRIOR to the modern state of Qatar's banknotes, when the countries/emirates of Qatar and Dubai established a joint issuing authority. This lasted from 1966 until 1971, when Dubai became a part of the United Arab Emirates. As a result, these notes did not circulate for a tremendous period of time. They are highly sought after in good condition and can bring quite a large sum of money.