CoinPeople.com

Can someone steer me right?

Posted Yesterday, 04:16 PM

I am new to coin collecting and I recently purchased a Kennedy half from eBay that was advertised as follows.

Kennedy Half Dollar 1998-S SMS Silver NGC SP69 Mintage 62,000 hd 153

The picture showed a Kennedy Half but not the slab details. When I received the coin there is not an SMS designation on it. It says 1998-S SP69. I called NGC and spoke with one of their customer service reps and she looked up the coin and told me that coin is a SPECIMEN coin and NOT an SMS coin and was not represented properly. I disputed my purchase and the seller has written me back that basically the coin is represented properly and is correct. His response is below.

This is a Specimen 69 SMS Special Matte Specimen. There is no other coin with this matte surface. There is no such thing as a Special Mint Set for this year or any year since 1967. NGC knows SMS as Special Mint Set from the 1960's. This coin is in the Red Book as a matte proof and has a mintage of 62,000. In 1998 there were 2 silver proofs, one in the regular mirror finish and the other was a matte proof in the Kennedy set with the Robert Kennedy silver dollar. See this link to another ebay item for clarification.http://www.ebay.com/...=item20ffef10c7 I'm not sure what coin you are wanting, but if you don't want the matte proof, please return it. Thanks,

In 1998 the US Mint issued a special set with the Robert Kennedy Half Dollar. The coin was created with a Matte finish and carries the designation of Specimen and thus when graded is marked as SP-69, SP-67, etc. The mintage is quite low and this particular piece is a semi-key item if you want to collect the entire Kennedy Half Proof collection. Since it is a Specimen piece and not made for circulation, it is included in sets with the Proof issues.