CoinPeople.com

A camera that I have been using

gxseries

Thought I might as well start a thread about cameras that you use to capture awesome coin photos. I've been using this camera for probably a couple of years.

I do own a DSLR camera but I am not a big fan of it due to it's weight plus it takes a fair bit of effort to set it up. You'll also need dedicated lens to take close up photos. At the same time, I'll like to show that you don't need an expensive camera to take good photos.

I've been using a few different cameras and the most recent is Pentax Optio W90. The one before is Ricoh. Don't really quite remember what I had before that - probably a Panasonic lumix which I struggled to take decent macro photo.

I've been clocking up to close to 4000 photos on the Pentax camera and I've got good reason to like it. It's a 12.1 mp camera and it's got a super macro which focuses it down to 1cm. I also like how the lens is integrated with the camera - if you live in a dusty enviroment, it can cause a bit of a grief. I had a camera where the lens was jammed due to dust and it was a write off.

It is dust proof and shock proof but that doesn't mean that you go and bash it up... water proof as well but I haven't tried it out yet.

I also like the read / write time - it's fast enough for what I do and this is taking multiples of photos before I make up my mind.

You may want to read this review here: http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/OW90/OW90A.HTM

Personally I find it hard to beat the price of around 300 dollars when it was first out. It was a present from my dad as he knows that I take a lot of photos. Appearently you can get it around 150 dollars or a lot less if you are willing to go second hand.

What camera do you use?

Thought I might as well start a thread about cameras that you use to capture awesome coin photos. I've been using this camera for probably a couple of years.