Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 1704 Altyn

CoinPeople.com > Specialized Numismatic Forums > Russian Coin Forums
alexbq2
Hi,

I found this Altyn auction on eBay. It doesn't look quite right to me. Any thoughts?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...em=280186424509



Also, I would appreciate any thoughts on the serebrenik issue I posted earlier.
squirrel
That ebay seller has a history of selling fakes, mixed with the occasional genuine coin. I would stay away. That Altyn looks pretty bad, too.
RW Julian
QUOTE(alexbq2 @ Dec 26 2007, 08:27 PM) *
Hi, I found this Altyn auction on eBay. It doesn't look quite right to me. Any thoughts?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...em=280186424509

The following two auctions by the same seller are both fakes and perhaps say all that is necessary:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...em=280184776356

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...em=280184774174

The prices realized for these two pieces was very low.

RWJ
grivna1726
QUOTE(alexbq2 @ Dec 26 2007, 08:27 PM) *
Hi,

I found this Altyn auction on eBay. It doesn't look quite right to me. Any thoughts?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...em=280186424509
Also, I would appreciate any thoughts on the serebrenik issue I posted earlier.


Do you have a copy of Uzdenikov? If so, compare the coin to the pictures shown there. The differences will be obvious.
alexbq2
Thanks, yes I see differences between the listed images and this one. But with such early coinage I never know if there are die variations that were not cataloged. This one looks fairly crude. I should note this seller for the future.
alexbq2
Sold for 72 US. And it is staying in Russia! The buyer is from Perm.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.