Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: LIZA ROUBLE

CoinPeople.com > Specialized Numismatic Forums > Russian Coin Forums
p911
http://cgi.ebay.com/1749-Silver-1-Rouble-R...1QQcmdZViewItem

what d u think fake or not
Scottishmoney
Looks AT like a Chinese coin should.
kisenish
it's a cast fake. I would also add that this seller is known to sell counterfeits, that's why I personally would not buy any valuable coin there, as he is a fuflogon mad.gif
grivna1726
QUOTE(kisenish @ May 14 2007, 11:19 AM) [snapback]324111[/snapback]

it's a cast fake. I would also add that this seller is known to sell counterfeits, that's why I personally would not buy any valuable coin there, as he is a fuflogon mad.gif



I don't know this seller, but I agree that the coin looks odd.

The surfaces appear quite porous (partially hidden by the dark photos).

I think you are right, it looks like a cast counterfeit to me also.
Oldman
QUOTE(kisenish @ May 14 2007, 11:19 AM) [snapback]324111[/snapback]

it's a cast fake. I would also add that this seller is known to sell counterfeits, that's why I personally would not buy any valuable coin there, as he is a fuflogon mad.gif

I agree 100% - do not touch this coin !
Maya
Does anyone ever contact the seller about coins like this? This seller has a positive feedback of 100%. Could it be possible that (s)he does not know that this coin is questionable? Kisenish, you seem to be familiar with this seller; have you had any direct contact with them?
Oldman
QUOTE(Maya @ May 14 2007, 01:58 PM) [snapback]324134[/snapback]

Does anyone ever contact the seller about coins like this? This seller has a positive feedback of 100%. Could it be possible that (s)he does not know that this coin is questionable? Kisenish, you seem to be familiar with this seller; have you had any direct contact with them?


I have had a direct contact with the seller. Having several IDs on EBay in 2 countries (US and Canada - just look at the listing: item location and registration !) this seller plays games. Stay away !
grivna1726
QUOTE(Oldman @ May 14 2007, 08:19 PM) [snapback]324178[/snapback]

I have had a direct contact with the seller. Having several IDs on EBay in 2 countries (US and Canada - just look at the listing: item location and registration !) this seller plays games. Stay away !


Has this seller previously sold Russian coins on ebay (supposedly) from British Columbia in Canada?
Cheburgen
The coin is sold already. biggrin.gif To Russia. biggrin.gif
Oldman
QUOTE(Cheburgen @ May 14 2007, 09:00 PM) [snapback]324183[/snapback]

The coin is sold already. biggrin.gif To Russia. biggrin.gif

Mother Russsia takes everything these days smile.gif
kisenish
Interestingly, this seller once bought a coin from me (Rouble 1831 with open "2"). While buying good coins for himself, I saw many fakes offered by this seller mad.gif British Columbia?? maybe, sounds very familiar...
grivna1726
QUOTE(kisenish @ May 15 2007, 02:40 AM) [snapback]324302[/snapback]

Interestingly, this seller once bought a coin from me (Rouble 1831 with open "2").


You mean 1821 or 1832? confused1.gif unsure.gif

QUOTE(kisenish @ May 15 2007, 02:40 AM) [snapback]324302[/snapback]

While buying good coins for himself, I saw many fakes offered by this seller mad.gif


That suggests he knows the difference. mad.gif

QUOTE(kisenish @ May 15 2007, 02:40 AM) [snapback]324302[/snapback]

British Columbia?? maybe, sounds very familiar...


There was (is?) a seller on ebay who claimed to be in British Columbia in Canada and who routinely offered many crude fakes. Occasionally, there was one that MIGHT have been real (or, more likely, was just a better quality fake than the others). I think the seller's "handle" was a woman's name like "Joan" or "Joanna" or something similar. The seller's listings used to appeal to bidders' greed by talking about what a great investment Russian coins are because they "double in value every year" (or words to that effect). mad.gif

This offering has a somewhat different look to the layout of the listing and the appeal to victims' greed is not there, but I think it might be the same online seller (although I might be mistaken). unsure.gif
gxseries
Grivna, I believe that "2" refers to the 4zol 21 dol.

Interesting enough, I do think I have seen a seller that goes with a similar nick that used to sell an awful amount of Russian counterfeits, coins, militaras etc with ugly style of advertisement.
RW Julian
QUOTE(grivna1726 @ May 15 2007, 05:32 AM) [snapback]324305[/snapback]

There was (is?) a seller on ebay who claimed to be in British Columbia in Canada and who routinely offered many crude fakes. Occasionally, there was one that MIGHT have been real (or, more likely, was just a better quality fake than the others). I think the seller's "handle" was a woman's name like "Joan" or "Joanna" or something similar. The seller's listings used to appeal to bidders' greed by talking about what a great investment Russian coins are because they "double in value every year" (or words to that effect).

Still in business:

http://cgi.ebay.com/RUSSIAN-Polish-militar...1QQcmdZViewItem

He does not seem to be offering any fake coins at present. Quite a few of the counterfeits illustrated
in the Russian Numismatic Society Journal came from his eBay listings.

He did sell an occasional genuine piece though it was usually a well-circulated copper coin of little value.

RWJ

Maya
So much to learn...
Oldman
Please, no names or eBay user ID's here. Further messages with them will be deleted.

-Tane
squirrel
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...A:IT&ih=013

interestingly, this guy also has a 1749 ruble for sale. He is also known for his selection of "novodels", but they are clearly sold as copies.

Ive bought a few of his genuine coins in the past, and he is a knowledgeable collector, based on our email.

Selling copies cant be good for your reputation, however. unsure.gif
grivna1726
QUOTE(gxseries @ May 15 2007, 08:47 AM) [snapback]324329[/snapback]

Grivna, I believe that "2" refers to the 4zol 21 dol.


doh.gif

Thank you, gx! hi.gif
grivna1726
QUOTE(RW Julian @ May 15 2007, 09:12 AM) [snapback]324331[/snapback]

Still in business:

http://cgi.ebay.com/RUSSIAN-Polish-militar...1QQcmdZViewItem

He does not seem to be offering any fake coins at present. Quite a few of the counterfeits illustrated
in the Russian Numismatic Society Journal came from his eBay listings.

He did sell an occasional genuine piece though it was usually a well-circulated copper coin of little value.

RWJ



Thank you, that is the one.
grivna1726
QUOTE(Maya @ May 15 2007, 10:55 AM) [snapback]324343[/snapback]

So much to learn...


All of us are still learning. It's a process, not an end. biggrin.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.