Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 1762 Rouble on ebay

CoinPeople.com > Specialized Numismatic Forums > Russian Coin Forums
IlyaE
I'm thinking to buy this rouble on ebay, but have some concerns about the authenticity, even with seller guaranteeing that it’s authentic. What do you think?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Peter-III-1762-silver-...emZ280041887910
gxseries
I think it is genuine but unfortunately if you look at the bottom of the coin, it seems like it was intentionally worn off, which painfully removes a fair amount of it's value.
IlyaE
Thanks for the fast reply, the price doesn't seem to be that bad for this one, I can't afford it in VF
worldcoinguy
Funny timing on your question. I was going to ask the forum about this different 1762 rouble that was just listed today. The seller has been around for awhile and seems to have good quality things, but I had to look at this one closely. My first impression is that it has the cast look to it. Maybe I am being too critical?

ebay link
Loyal Citizen
QUOTE(worldcoinguy @ Oct 30 2006, 08:38 PM) [snapback]269039[/snapback]

Funny timing on your question. I was going to ask the forum about this different 1762 rouble that was just listed today. The seller has been around for awhile and seems to have good quality things, but I had to look at this one closely. My first impression is that it has the cast look to it. Maybe I am being too critical?

ebay link



This coin is genuine. However, it has been harshly cleaned with chemical agents. That brings the value of it to a very low level. Also, it looks like attempts were made to add artifical toning to it (most likely , to cover the cleaning). I'd stay away from this expensive problem coin.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.