CoinPeople.com

Imaging Coin Surfaces

I'm trying out a new (for me) imaging technique that is giving promising results for showing details on coin surfaces. I finally got it set up to give just the right magnification to show Lincoln Cent date and MM in the full image field. Here's what the technique gives for my heavily-toned 57D that I use for most of my image comparisons:

57D20Money20Shot_01.jpg

I think these stereoscopic pics are fantastic for studying the coin itself. You can see minor varieties, metal flows, wear patterns, and how toning/cleanings have affected the surfaces. But these are pics most cherished by real scholars of the coin. As a materials engineer, I love these pics. But if I were just a collector who cared only about beauty, these would be like seeing a model with her make up off.

Post more!

That's a wonderful detail shot. Images like this are superb for studying varieties and errors. Can you tell us a bit about your technique and equipment?

Fantastic detail. Can you post an image of the cent itself so we can compare color, toning, etc. Hove you thought about eliminating the dust? It is somewhat distracting. What is the line running through the 1 and into Lincoln's lapel? I too would like to hear more about your technique.

I think this is what would be considered a "minor RPM", not strong enough to list. There are many of them out there with doubling showing on one or both serifs. When you send them in for attribution, they come back as "serifs only, too minor to list".