CoinPeople.com

Tell me if I am crazy

swest2004@yahoo.com

Ok, I have come back to coin collecting and wanted to start off with a stunning set that may have increased value.

I selected the Silver Eagle since it is a short lifespan - 1986+ and affordable in most cases.

However, I find myself buying quite a few from ebay. I believe I am getting decent to very good deals but perhaps you can reassure me since I am new to this.

My goal is to get the best deals and slowly (as I can afford) pick up a 2 complete sets of silver proofs, ungraded. I also am aiming to get an additional set complete that is either PF 69 or PF70 for all the coins (1995-W not included at this time)

I want to do this for me and my little guys (2 boys - 4 month old and a 2 year old)who I hope will grow up and join me in adding to their future collections. Thus the two sets for them and the graded for me.

With all that said, I have been picking up Silver eagle proofs around the $30-$38 mark with shipping included in that number. In proofs with original box and COA, I have picked up: 1988 ($37.50), 1986 ($35), 2004 ($30), 2001 ($33).

I also picked up one 2005-W NGC PF70 UCAM for $81. I want all my graded coins to be NGC preferably.

Any eagle buffs out there tell me if I blowing too much money or am I doing ok? I have to stop as I pretty much nuked my monthly budget. Am I doing this in the best way? I want to stay with proofs at this point. I plan to expand out my collecting as I can.

Thanks! I really want to make sure I am not way off base here before I get into next month's budget.

Swest. :ninja:

well,for what it is worth i also collect silver eagles,but i tend to buy only b/u. proofs seem to be a little pricey for my budget and i have this copper fetish thingy that i prob. need therapy for.. but anyway happy collecting...... :ninja:

Bryan